Skip to main content
Welcome to the cutting edge of safety science—Learn more about our rebrand.
  • Feature Story

FSA Announces New Rule Requiring Proper Labeling for 14 Food Allergens

August 20, 2014

The Food Standards Agency (FSA) issued technical guidance to help small and medium-sized (SME) businesses in the UK comply with new rules on allergen labeling and information, which take effect later this year.

Following December 13, 2014, food businesses in the UK will have to follow new rules in labeling pre-packed foods and non-prepacked (loose) foods. This is part of the European Union Food Information for Consumers Regulation (EU FIC) coming into force.

The guidance provides detailed interpretations of the EU FIC’s allergen requirements and intends to help food businesses to comply with the changes and develop understanding in practically applying the new requirements.

The new rules require food businesses to provide information on the presence of 14 allergens, if added or used as ingredients in food. The 14 allergens as listed in the EU FIC are:

  • cereals containing gluten
  • crustaceans
  • molluscs
  • eggs
  • fish
  • peanuts
  • nuts
  • soya
  • milk
  • celery
  • mustard
  • sesame
  • lupin
  • sulphur dioxide (at a level above 10mg/kg or 10mg/litre)

Additional Source