August 20, 2014
The U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) has ruled that all foods labeled gluten-free must meet all requirements of the gluten-free labeling final rule published in August 2013.
The requirements apply to packaged foods labeled on or after August 5, 2014. The FDA states that consumers should be aware that there may be some products still on store shelves that were produced and labeled before the compliance date for the FDA’s rule.
The final rule provides a uniform standard definition where gluten-free foods must contain less than 20 parts per million (ppm) gluten. Foods may be labeled “gluten-free” if they are inherently gluten free; or do not contain an ingredient that is:
- a gluten-containing grain (e.g., spelt wheat);
- derived from a gluten-containing grain that has not been processed to remove gluten (e.g., wheat flour); or
- derived from a gluten-containing grain that has been processed to remove gluten (e.g., wheat starch), if the use of that ingredient results in the presence of 20 ppm or more gluten in the food.