Skip to main content
Welcome to the cutting edge of safety science—Learn more about our rebrand.
  • Feature Story

State of Maine Announces Designation of Four New Chemicals as Priority Chemicals

September 15, 2015

UNITED STATES  ̶  The State of Maine has added four new chemicals to the list of priority chemicals under the Toxic Chemicals in Children’s Products Act. These include:

  • Di(2-ethylhexyl) phthalate (DEHP) [CAS# 117-81-7]
  • Dibutyl phthalate (DBP) [CAS# 84-74-2]
  • Benzyl butyl phthalate (BBP) [CAS# 85-68-7]
  • Diethyl phthalate (DEP) [CAS# 84-66-2]

Children’s products covered include:

  • Clothing and footwear
  • Craft supplies
  • Building and home maintenance products
  • Cosmetics and personal care products
  • Household and commercial cleaning products
  • Household furniture and furnishings
  • Personal accessories and jewelry

All manufacturers and distributors of children’s products shall report to the Maine Department of Environmental Protection (DEP) if their products intentionally contain the four new chemicals. The deadline to comply is December 19, 2015.