Skip to main content
Welcome to the cutting edge of safety science—Learn more about our rebrand.
  • Feature Story

EC Adds Cosmetic Dye Ingredients to RSL (European Union)

August 18, 2015

The European Commission (EC) has released Commission Regulation (EU) 2015/1190, amending Annex III to Regulation (EC) No 1223/2009 of the European Parliament and of the Council on cosmetic products. It specifically adds one eyelash and nine hair dye ingredients to the list of restricted substances under the aforesaid annex of the EU cosmetics Regulation.

Substance Common Name CAS No. EC No.
Thioglycolic acid and its salts Thioglycolic acid 68-11-1 200-677-4
3-[(4-amino-3- methyl-9,10-dioxo-9,10-dihydroanthracen-1- yl)amino]-N,N,N -trimethylpropan-1-aminium, methylsulfate salt HC Blue No 17 16517-75-2 605-392-2
Phosphoric acid compound with 4-[(2,6-dichlorophenyl) (4-imino- 3,5-dimethyl-2,5- cyclohexadien-1- ylidene) methyl]- 2,6-dimethylaniline (1:1) HC Blue No 15 74578-10-2 277-929-5
Disodium 2,2′- (9,10-dioxoanthracene-1,4-diyldiimino)bis(5- methylsulphonate) Acid Green 25 4403-90-1 224-546-6
Sodium, 4- [(9,10-dihydro-4- hydroxy-9,10-dioxo-1-anthryl) amino]toluene-3- sulphonate Acid Violet 43 4430-18-6 224-618-7
1,4-Benzenediamine, 2-(methoxymethyl) 1,4-Benzenediamine, 2-(methoxymethyl)-, sulfate 2-Methoxymethyl-p-Phenylenediamine 2-Methoxymethyl-p-Phenylenediamine Sulfate 337906-36-2 337906-37-3 -
1-N-Methylmorpholiniumpropylamino-4-hydroxyanthraquinone, methyl sulfate Hydroxyanthraquinone-aminopropyl Methyl Mor-pholinium Methosulfate 38866-20-5 254-161-9
Ethanol, 2,2′-[[3- methyl-4-[(E)-(4- nitrophenyl)azo] phenyl]imino]bis Disperse Red 17 3179-89-3 221-665-5
4-Amino-5-hy - droxy-3-(4-nitro - phenylazo)-6- (phenylazo)-2,7- naphthalenedisulfonic acid, disodium salt Acid Black 1 1064-48-8 213-903-1
Disodium 3-h y - droxy-4-[(E)-(4- methyl-2-sulfonatophenyl)diazenyl]-2-naphthoate Pigment Red 57 5858-81-1 227-497-9

The substances will be subjected to stricter maximum concentration limits and specific labelling requirements.

The decision has been released after a series of risk assessments conducted by the Commission’s Scientific Committee on Consumer Safety (SCCS).

The limit for thioglycolic acid will take effect on August 10, 2015, while the others will be applied on August 10, 2016.