Skip to main content
A male heating plant worker wearing a hardhat is standing next to a pipe system and performing a quality check.
  • Service

Certification of Non-Electrical Equipment for Use in Explosive Atmospheres

Certify your non-electrical equipment for use in explosive atmospheres to comply with the local, regional or global markets.

Contact us

UL Solutions is a top issuer of Ex certification for international markets

As a leading issuer of global IECEx, ATEX and UKEx certifications, UL Solutions issues certificates, test reports and quality assessments for local and regional regulations and authorities. We help our customers, based in more than 100 countries, achieve their safety, security and sustainability goals.

Since 2016, the standards ISO 80079-36 and ISO 80079-37 have been under the scope of the IECEx Certified Equipment Scheme. UL Solutions is an approved IECEx Certification Body (ExCB) and IECEx Testing Laboratory (ExTL).

Leverage our global brand acceptance, and trust to add value to your innovations


For manufacturers who need help getting started, UL Solutions can provide training and insights for ignition hazards assessments (IHAs), prior to the IHA being developed and submitted to UL Solutions.

IECEx, ATEX and UKEx certifications

Under the IECEx System, ATEX Directive and UK Regulation, UL Solutions is an ExCB/ExTL, Notified Body and Approved Body for ISO/EN ISO 80079-36 and ISO/EN ISO 80079-37, can issue IECEx, ATEX and UKEx certifications, test reports and quality assessments for non-electrical equipment.

ATEX/UKEx technical file storage

For Equipment Categories 2 and 3, if self-declaration is desired, UL Solutions offers technical file storage in accordance with the ATEX Directive (2014/34/EU) and UK Regulations (2016 No. 1107 and 2017 No. 90).

Non-Electrical Equipment for Use in Hazardous Location – An Introduction

New Standards have been published for non-electrical equipment for use in potentially explosive atmospheres.

Watch the video.



Non-electrical certifications

Non-electrical equipment can potentially present a risk of explosion due to impact, friction, hot surfaces, and static electricity, among other methods. Such equipment installed in a potentially explosive atmosphere shall be designed to prevent these risks from occurring and causing an explosion.

Non-electrical equipment for use in explosive atmospheres was certified initially according to the requirements of the European Norm EN 13463 series of standards, intended to be used by the European community and other parts of the world that accept ATEX certifications. An international approach has now been introduced through the IECEx System using ISO standards based on the EN 13463 series of standards. In general, the methodology to demonstrate compliance is based on an ignition hazard assessment (IHA) of non-electrical potential ignition sources, such as but not limited to:

  • Hot surfaces
  • Flames and hot gases (including hot particles)
  • Mechanically generated impact, friction and abrasion
  • Stray electric currents, cathodic corrosion protection
  • Static electricity
  • Lightning
  • Radio frequency (RF) electromagnetic waves from
    104 Hz to 3 x 1011 Hz
  • Electromagnetic waves from 3 x 1011 Hz to 3 x 1015 Hz
  • Ionizing radiation
  • Ultrasonic waves
  • Adiabatic compression and shock waves
  • Exothermic reactions, including self-ignition of dust

The IECEx System is an international system for the safety of equipment installed in or relating to a potentially explosive atmosphere—an IECEE CB Scheme for explosive atmospheres. It is primarily based on the IEC 60079 and ISO 80079 series of standards facilitated by the IEC/TC 31 technical committee joined and often convened by UL Solutions guiding the evolution of these standards.

Everything starts with an ignition hazard assessment (IHA) based on the requirements of ISO 80079-36 and ISO 80079-37. In accordance with these standards and ISO/IEC 17065 the IHA shall be developed and submitted by the manufacturer, while UL Solutions will perform the review of the IHA. For manufacturers that are new to this process, UL Solutions can provide training on IHAs.

Examples of non-electrical equipment are hydraulic and pneumatic rotating machines, brakes, couplings, pumps, etc. Standards such as IEC TS 60079-46 and IEC 60079-26 require the use of ISO 80079-36. Additionally, end product standards such as EN 15268 or the EN 13617 series require the use of EN ISO 80079-36.

For non-electrical equipment, ISO 80079-36 requires all equipment to be marked with an “h”. However, ISO 80079-37 includes three different types of protection: construction safety “c”, control of ignition sources “b” and liquid immersion “k”. These types of protection were previously identified in the European EN 13463 series.

The ATEX Directive (2014/34/EU) and the UK Regulations (2016 No. 1107 and 2017 No. 90) require both electrical and non-electrical ignition sources are addressed. Non-electrical equipment can be covered by a self-declaration when it falls under Equipment Categories 2 (Zones 1 and 21) and 3 (Zone 2 and 22).

For Equipment Category 1 (Zones 0 and 20), a certification issued by an ATEX Notified Body (ExNB) is needed. For Equipment Category 2 (Zones 1 and 21), communication of the technical documentation shall be provided to a notified body.

Note: The Zone designations and Equipment Categories can relate to Equipment Protection Levels as follows:

Zone Equipment Category Equipment Protection Level (EPL)
Zone 0 1G Ga
Zone 1 2G Gb
Zone 2 3G Gc
Zone 20 1D Da
Zone 21 2D Db
Zone 22 3D Dc

Get connected with our sales team

Thanks for your interest in our products and services. Let's collect some information so we can connect you with the right person.

Please wait…