Skip to main content
  • News Story

Australia – Certification Scheme Acceptance for New South Wales

Person changing light bulb

August 31, 2020

By: Kongpob Rattanakornkun, Australia/New Zealand regulatory program expert

On March 27, 2020, New South Wales (NSW) Government Electrical Safety Regulator informed the authorized agencies that their temporary acceptance of certificates issued by Recognized External Certification Scheme (RECS) expired on July 1, 2020, at which time NSW will only accept certificates issued by Recognized External Approval Scheme (REAS) Certifiers.

Summary of Recognized External Approval Scheme (REAS):

  • Certificate authorized by the New South Wales Government
  • Certification type: Certificate of Approval (CoA)
  • Certification Marking (Mandatory): either RCM and/or Approval Mark
  • Wildcard characters are allowed in model numbers
  • Acceptable for all Australian states and New Zealand as of now

Summary of Recognized External Certification Scheme (RECS):

  • Certificate authorized by the Queensland Government
  • Certification type: Certificate of Conformity (CoC)
  • Certification Marking (Mandatory): RCM
  • Wildcard Characters are not allowed in model numbers (unless as a separated suffix such as ABC-xxx).
  • New South Wales will NOT accept the certificate under RECS after July 1, 2020.


How UL can help

UL’s offices in New Zealand are authorized under both Recognized External Certification Scheme (RECS) and Recognized External Approval Scheme (REAS) to issue the Certificate of Conformity/Approval (CoC/A) for your products. CoC/A can be accepted throughout all Australia states (including New South Wales) and New Zealand.


Stay informed with our Lumen Insights newsletter

Stay in the know with real time Lighting Industry updates from UL.

Please wait…

Get in touch

Have questions, need specifics? Let's get this conversation started.

Help and support

How can we help?